Hello WordPress and a Question

Hello everyone. I’ve decided to move my blog/website to WordPress. I was very happy with the platform I’ve been using. It had a “wysiwyg” interface that was totally awesome. Indeed, I liked it better than any of the blogging platforms I’ve tried. However, WordPress does two very important things that my current site cannot. Namely, visitors cannot subscribe by email to the site, nor can they subscribe to comments/be alerted when a new comment has been made. Now, I was able to add a widget that allowed people to sign up for email updates, but I would have to sign into another website to administer this system; not the ideal situation. However, not being able to subscribe to comments was what really decided the issue for me. I want to use my blog to have conversations. I simply need that function.

Anyway, on to the QUESTION. What should I do about the posts on my old blog (I’m going to bring my stories over, I’m just thinking about the regular posts)? Should I try to move them over? Or should I just have a link to my old site? Let me know what you think in the comments below. Thanks for your input!

4 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

4 responses to “Hello WordPress and a Question

  1. Well, I like the wordpress layout. I think it looks pretty awesome, and like you said, those two features are important for followers. It might take some time to transfer everything over from the old site, but I think it would be worthwhile.

  2. tkguthat

    Thanks for the compliment about the look. Of course I didn’t design it, but I did pick it out 😉 And thank you for the advice. I think you’re right on both counts.

  3. Love the layout, Tim. Looks great!

    Personally, I’d make sure to at least download all the content from the previous site. That way you have it if you need it. If that site lets you download and export posts, that would be the easiest way. Otherwise you have copy and paste. Still, would be worth it to have all your posts secure on your computer.

    • tkguthat

      Thank you! Once I start adding content, the layout really started to pop. I’m very happy with it now. Your advice makes sense. I’ll definitely save the old posts. Maybe, I’ll slowly re-post them as I add new content. Perhaps, on a one-to-one basis.

      Thanks again for the comment, and thank you for subscribing 🙂

Leave a Reply

